Mind Mapping for Good

Posted on January 25, 2013

2


Probably like many of you, I sometimes get overwhelmed by all the ideas that flood my brain. I’m like that Bing or Google commercial (I forget which one) where one keyword search (in my case, idea) leads to so many others that I stray from my original thought and end up with so many other things I realize I want to do, to eat, to listen to, to go to, to buy, etc.

When it comes to the issues of the world, there are times when I feel like I want to solve every single one of them and that I have so many ideas on how to solve each one. Whenever this happens, I get so overwhelmed to the point that I end up thinking I really can’t do anything because I don’t even know where to start. So, I thought really hard to figure out how I can organize my thoughts and ideas in order for me to be more effective and actually do something that will benefit others. The answer: Mind mapping.

Sample of mind mapping using SimpleMind+ app for iPhone

When I was in college, I had to write a lot of research papers. I should’ve known since I went to a research university. Anyway, during my last semester, I registered for the Psychology Final Project course, where we had to write a 15-20 page literature review about any topic we could relate to Psychology as the capstone project of our entire college career as Psychology majors. It really sounded scary at the beginning, but we were taught how to mind map.

Mind mapping really helped me figure out the topic I wanted to write about, and what areas of the topic I wanted to explore. It was really easy. I just started with a main idea/topic/question/etc. then branched out from there. It helped visualize my thinking process.

So for those who want to solve 100 issues of the world and have 100 ideas for each issue, I suggest mind mapping. PC World has an article about different mind mapping apps available on different devices (you can also just search “mind map” on your device’s app-buying app [Huh?]), but mind mapping could also easily be done with paper and colored pens; whatever works.

Posted in: Technology