LIVESTRONG, Armstrong, and My Controversial Wrist

Posted on January 19, 2013

0


Since Lance Armstrong was stripped of his medals, my wrist has become a celebrity. A lot of people seemed curious about my continuous wear of the yellow rubber band that says “LIVESTRONG” on my wrist. Events of this week just made my wrist the talk of the town.

20130119-134740.jpg

I understand why people keep commenting about the accessory on my wrist. Like many, I was also disappointed by Lance Armstrong because I always saw him as one of the best, if not the best, athlete of my time. What I don’t understand is how people think that one man’s wrongdoings should be a reason to forget all the good that an organization has done for many people. We can turn our backs on Lance Armstrong if we choose to, but can we really turn our backs on the thousands of people affected by cancer that LIVESTRONG has helped?

If I find out that LIVESTRONG deceived us, too, in any way, shape, or form, then I’ll gladly cut this yellow band. But as long as my yellow LIVESTRONG rubber band continues to represent the thousands of people whose lives have been affected by cancer, my wrist will continue to be accessorized by it. So for now, let’s try to remember who this yellow band really represents.


Click here
to read the official statement from the LIVESTRONG Foundation in response to recent events involving Lance Armstrong.