We Can Feed the Hungry

Posted on September 18, 2012

0


After reading a lot of information about the world’s hunger problem, I found out that it is a very solvable problem. We do have enough food to feed the world. It’s just a matter of getting the available food or the resources to acquire food to those who need it the most.

I’ve tweeted and re-tweeted information I acquire from UNICEF, the UN World Food Programme, and other organizations about the issue of hunger in the world and how we can solve it. But I just found out yesterday about the UN World Food Programme’s social media initiative, WeFeedback.

WeFeedback allows members to calculate how many children can be fed with the amount we pay for our favorite food. For example, I put in $5.00 for a white chocoloate mocha with soy milk. The online calculator showed me that I could feed 20 children with that amount. We can also create networks, using our existing social media accounts such as Twitter and Facebook, to spread the word about how many children we fed with the amount we usually spend on our favorite food. We can encourage our Twitter connections, Facebook friends, LinkedIn contacts, etc., to join our WeFeedback networks, and we can see the growing number of children our networks provide food for.

To JOIN MY WEFEEDBACK NETWORK, visit http://wefeedback.org/calculator?hash=NS6mX.

Posted in: Hunger/Food