UNICEF + IKEA

Posted on September 6, 2012

1


For those who, like myself, are big fans of DIY furniture, we have another reason to celebrate.

I just found out today through @unicefusa on Twitter that IKEA has been partners with UNICEF for about 10 years already. IKEA promotes children’s rights, fights child labor, and follows standards that ensure that the products they sell were acquired with the best interest of children and families in mind.

Since 2003, IKEA also holds an annual campaign, the Soft Toys for Education campaign, wherein 1 euro is donated to UNICEF for every soft toy bought from IKEA.

I didn’t know about IKEA’s partnership with UNICEF until today. An IKEA was built in Minnesota just a few years ago, and I’ve been a rewards program member for a few months now. I’ve often shopped at IKEA for home furniture, and I’m a big fan of their delicious, yet reasonably priced, food. So this just gives me more reason to be an IKEA customer.

For more information, please visit www.ikeafoundation.org and www.unicefusa.org.

Posted in: Uncategorized